Quick Links

Useful Links

St Peter's Independent

House Competitions

Each pupil of the school is appointed to one of the four house teams; Bader, Churchill, Nelson and Nightingale (details given below).

Competitions run throughout the year with major award for the House Points Cup and the Sports Day Trophy.

House points are awarded for pupil effort, achievement and conduct throughout the year.

Current house point totals are displayed on the main school notice board.

Bader House

Named in honour of Group Captain Sir Douglas Bader (1910-1982). A Royal Air Force (RAF) fighter ace during the Second World War; following the war Bader campaigned for the disabled – for which he was knighted in 1976 – and continued to fly until ill health forced him to stop in 1979.

Churchill House

Named in honour of Sir Winston Leonard Spencer-Churchill (1874-1965) Churchill is widely regarded as one of the greatest wartime leaders of the 20th century, he served as Prime Minister twice (1940–45 and 1951–55). A noted statesman and orator, Churchill was also an officer in the British Army, a historian, a writer, and an artist. He is the only British prime minister to have received the Nobel Prize in Literature.

Nelson House

Named in honour of Horatio Nelson, 1st Viscount Nelson. (1758-1805) Nelson was noted for his inspirational leadership and superb grasp of strategy and unconventional tactics, which resulted in a number of decisive naval victories. He was wounded several times in combat, losing one arm and the sight in one eye. Of his several victories, the best known and most notable was the Battle of Trafalgar in 1805, during which he was shot and killed.

Nightingale House

Named in honour of Florence Nightingale (1820-1910) Nightingale was a celebrated English nurse, writer and statistician. She came to prominence for her pioneering work in nursing during the Crimean War, where she tended to wounded soldiers. She was dubbed "The Lady with the Lamp" after her habit of making rounds at night. Nightingale laid the foundation of professional nursing with the establishment, in 1860, of her nursing school at St Thomas' Hospital in London.